BLEAK

default (3)
Fuck me the future seems bleak
The bollocks we’re witnessing week after week
Society bending and starting to creak
With the weight of the shit being piled on the meek
๐Ÿ”น
Whatever happened to wanting reform?
With stepping past hunger, remaining the norm
As ignorance steers them straight into the storm
But no one is freezing if they’re safe and warm
๐Ÿ”น
I fear that division is now in control
Divided and conquered, no longer a shoal
Constituent parts that once made up a whole
Where we worked as a team to achieve any goal
๐Ÿ”น
And yet if I say this I’m branded a fink
For daring to stir you and cause you think
For daring to see these connections that link
Creating a cocktail you don’t want to drink
๐Ÿ”น
No matter your line, you won’t dictate my fate
I’ll keep adding coals to the embers in the grate
I won’t let your anger block me out of this debate
And I sure as fuck won’t let you twist me with your hate
๐Ÿ”น
Empathy hurts when it’s surrounded by pain
Victory hollowed by the silence of the slain
As we pander to sociopaths more and more insane
And nurture our very society’s bane
.
Billy 12/7/20

Leave a comment