Soul Suckers

vamp

I see you

Hiding behind your fake-arsed social media lives

Where you can turn your back from the camera

To hide the knives

Sunlight in every picture

Like you never have to face the rain

When the truth is you’re using the shade

To hide the lines that mark the pain

A veneer of competence

An almost impish impudence

Screens the reality

As you scramble to find some personal relevance

Chasing validation

From those who have already accepted your ways

Basing your opinions

On things the next soothing snake-oil salesman says

Downright obsequious

In your attempts to always be the bride

But spread so thin you become no more than a sheen

Like highly polished pride

I see your pain in every cryptic status

“Look at me.. Don’t look at me”

It hits me like a scream

And becomes the only thing about you that I can see

It’s only because I recognise

That you have no control over this apparent need

That I don’t cover the vein and cut you off

But allow you to continue to feed

 

 

 

Billy 10/08/17