Don’t Ask Me

rainfall.jpg

Don’t ask me to explain

Why sometimes

I’d rather walk in the rain

Why words

Can sometimes fail

Or just seem to no avail

Don’t ask me the reason why

Faith as strong as the sky is high

Can be shattered

In a moment

A loosely swaying remnant

 

Don’t look to me for light

Like some kind of

Altruistic knight

I’m not even close

To gaining best

In my own internal conquest

Don’t ever try to understand

The forces that seem

To guide a hand

We’re a different person every day

Each step we take

Dictates our way

 

Don’t look for fairness or parity

In a World  built on greed

Not charity

There is no graciously warm relief

Until first you’ve tasted

Bitter grief

Don’t expect to see shame

Reflected in the eyes

Of those you blame

They’ll always find a way to justify

Or give themselves

An alibi

 

Don’t ask me to explain

Why life today

Just seems steeped in pain

It’s not that I don’t care

It’s just I have no more

Faith to share

 

Billy 14/4/17

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Don’t Ask Me

Leave a Reply

