The politics of anger

buddha

You were angry when you couldn’t get your way
Fuming when antagonists had their say
Livid when the promises went astray
And even though you won? You’re somehow angrier today

Accomplice to the start of truth’s demise
Convinced that this would lead to bluer skies
Deaf to people’s fears and victim’s cries
And still you won’t accept, the whole campaign was built on lies

Consequence dismissed as “project fear”
With those consequences creeping ever near
Immune to the truth about those beacons you revere
Who are selling out your rights to the things you hold most dear

I get that politics can be intense
And that all you get is splinters if you sit upon the fence
But comes a time you must accept the sense
And stop divisive headlines from dictating your offence

I never would insult you, or call you for a fool
But I will tell you now that I think that it’s uncool
To fall for a doctrine so obviously cruel
And by spreading that division, be complicit as it’s tool

I don’t need to judge you, or tell you who to be
I’m happy in the knowledge that my own will is still free
I’m fine with you seeing things differently to me
Because although we’re different branches, we still branch from the same tree

Billy 22/01/2016

Leave a Reply

