I should listen

innerspeech2

There’s been a whisper
Every time in my head when I make a choice
More a sense of knowing
Than any kind of actual voice
Like a separate me
One that’s steeped in age
Timeless in knowledge
Dripping with the wisdom of a sage
A guiding hand
That would lead me as I go
Lead me to conclusions
That I must already know

And yet this inner knowing
Is left to go unheard
And knowing that it’s from within
Just makes that more absurd
It seems my inner guardian
With answers to my fears
Has faded into background noise
And fallen on deaf ears
The little piece within me
That wants to see me fly
Finds himself outnumbered
By me, myself and I

Billy 6/11/16

One thought on “I should listen

Leave a Reply

