Me ‘n’ the Tree

 

tree
You never let me down

Well except that one time I slipped
But even that wasn’t you
It was me
That was the day my birthday jacket got ripped

I knew that would get me in bother
I hadn’t even had it a week

It was a long walk home that day I can tell you
Practicing a look
Both apologetic and meek

I never had to do that with you though
You just gave me my own personal throne

A place I could look down on the world

………………… A place I could be alone

Free from the torment of judgment
Whether real, or imagined truth

Your canopy a comfortable embrace
Shielding me through the angst of youth

I could sit there and see for miles

Or hide unnoticed as strangers pass below

Was I too old to pretend I was a spy?
And smile as they pass
Knowing they’d never know

You wore my name, among many others
All dated to bygone years

Generations of youth who were here before
Others who sat here to contemplate life’s fears

I never gave you a thought back then
Yet you were always there in my time of need

You were as much a part of my growing up
As any films that I watched
Or books I could read

I looked for you today
That noble tree I ruled from
Which I built my throne upon

And the World grew a little darker
When I realised that you had gone

Billy 31/12/15

Leave a Reply

