MUSE

muse

You touched my conscience
Destroyed the chain around my heart
Filled it to bursting
And blew those links apart

Allowed a soul starved of air
To taste life’s breath once more
Found this broken person
And helped me off the floor

Showed me how to see again
And how to raise a smile
Reminded me of feelings
I’d not felt in a while

Drew me back to younger times
Smiles, though lined and dated
Arousing tides within
That had too long been abated

Travelling through time
Touching fresh, raw senses
Passing over warning signs
And smashing down defences

Mind a whirling maelstrom
That takes my breath away
Then I catch myself and bite my tongue
I almost gave myself away

Billy 5/7/15

Leave a Reply

