The Art of Self Delusion

sel-d

I’m gonna start to run
I’m gonna run and if you wanna keep up you are gonna need to fly
You will need to push your limits to the max if you want to find out why
You will need to really put the effort in or it’s simply gonna be “goodbye!!”

I’m just sick of lagging behind
So maybe it’s time to hush a second and hear the sound of my own riff
Take a leap of faith from the nest that’s held me safely to the cliff
Make some memories worth remembering instead of wondering “what if?”

I’m sure I’ll find my path
I know it won’t be easy, but when it’s time I’ll know just what I need to do
I’ll be looking back to days when I could barely walk, then suddenly I flew
I’ll be looking back to the day when I found I still had hope.. Will you?

It’s not the future I saw
I’m not the man I thought i’d be when looking forward as a youth
To be fair, It’s all my own fault that I’m me at this long in the tooth
But hey, you know, there’s nothing out there hurts quite like the truth

I say I’m going to change
I say it, and I mean it, But then wait for these new times to make a start
And all the while the world moves on and pulls these dreams apart
And here’s me being deafened, by the pounding of my own heart

Billy 17/03/15

Leave a Reply

