I’ve Tried

Image

Well I’ve tried to do right, I’ve tried to be strong
I’ve tried to go with it, tried not to do wrong
I’ve tried being nice, I have tried hard to care
I have tried just to listen, I have tried to be there

I have tried to rise above it, tried to stay immune
Tried to be worthy, tried to stay in tune
I have tried to be normal, and live life like I should
I have tried, but it’s not me, I’d be normal if I could

I have tried being genuine, let folks read me like a book
I have tried and am still open, if you’d like to take a look
I have tried to be someone, strong enough to make a stand
I have tried to be eternal, not a footprint in the sand

I have tried, and I’ve tried, to level out this rough
I’ve tried to jump these hurdles, but it never seems enough
I’ve tried to take this stunted life, and jolt the thing to start
I’ve tried, I’m tired, I’ve had enough.. I’m running out of heart

Billy 17/3/14

Leave a Reply

